top of page

CNY Branch of the NLAPW

Sheila Myers' New Novel to be Released April 2022

Pen Woman Sheila Myers' latest novel, titled The Truth of Who You Are, will be released by the publisher Black Rose Writing in April 2022. Set during the dawn of the Great Depression and ending at the Battle of the Bulge, the novel follows Ben Taylor, a young man growing up in the shadow of the Smoky Mountains in Tennessee. A synopsis of Myers' novel follows: when the Great Depression casts a pall on the economy, Ben takes work with the Civilian Conservation Corps in the now developed Smoky Mountains National Park. During his tenure with the Corps, Ben falls in love with his high school sweetheart and gains a best friend named Tony who hails from New York City. But when he makes a fateful decision that could get him kicked out of the Corps, he considers whether to let Tony take the fall. Years later he finds Tony during the Battle of the Bulge and must confront the truth of what he’s done. Based on the stories of the people who once inhabited Cades Cove, now a Cultural Heritage Site in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this sweeping saga depicts the ebb and flow of life in the mountains, explores the human connection to the land and home and the lengths that people will go to protect it.

In addition, Myers will be appearing as a guest speaker on the History Channel's Engineering That Built the World. The series starts on October 10th. Myers is expected to appear in the episode on the Transcontinental Railroad where she speaks to the legacy of Thomas Durant.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
No tags yet.
bottom of page